Team Members

T.V. Paul (McGill University) Team Leader

Awards and Honors

  • 2018 Royal Society of Canada Fellow
  • President, International Studies Association (ISA), 2016-17.
  • James McGill Professor of International Relations
  • Erudite Fellow, Kerala State Higher Education Council, India, January 2016.
  • Included in the A-List of 41 Most Influential Indo-Canadians and Friends of India, The Indian Diaspora ((, Toronto, January 2015.
  • Ambassador John Price and Marcia Price World Affairs Lecturer, Utah Council for Citizen  Diplomacy, March 2014.
  • The Ngee Ann Kongsi Professor (Visiting) of International Relations, S. Rajaratnam School of
    International Studies, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, Aug. 2014.

Web Presence

John A. Hall (McGill University)

  • James McGill Professor of Sociology
  • 2016 Prix du Québec Léon-Gérin for human and social sciences
  • 2016 Royal Society of Canada’s Innis-Gérin Medal

Web Presence

Vincent Pouliot (McGill University)

Awards and Honors

  • 2018 Royal Society of Canada, Member of the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists
  • William Dawson Scholar
  • Hedley Bull Prize (2017)
  • DPSR Best Article Award (2017)
  • EJIR Best Article Award (2015)
  • CPSA prize in international relations (2011)
  • Vincent-Lemieux Prize (2009)

Web Presence

Frédéric Mérand (Université de Montréal)

Awards and Honors

  • Prix Paul-Painchaud pour le meilleur article publié dans la revue Études internationales en 2008-2009 (2010)
  • Best Article Published in Cooperation & Conflict in 2005-06, Nordic International Studies Association (2007)
  • Ernst B. Haas Award for Best Dissertation in European Politics and Society (runner-up), American Political Science Association (2004)

Web Presence

Sarah-Myriam Martin-Brûlé (Bishop University)

Awards and Honors

  • 2018 Fullbright Canada Scholar

Web Presence

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Sidney Leclercq

  • Post-doctoral research fellow at the Université libre de Bruxelles (REPI – Recherche et études en politique internationale)
  • Visiting research fellow at the Université de Montréal (CERIUM – Centre d’études et de recherches internationales).

Visiting Scholars

Evan Resnick (RSIS) – January 2019

Graduate Student Associates

Erik Underwood (McGill University) Graduate Student Coordinator

  • Dissertation: “Defining the Rules of the Game: Power and the Terms of Status Competition
  • SSHRC Joseph-Armand Bombardier Doctoral Scholarship Recipient

Emmanuelle Rousseau (Université de Montréal)

  • Dissertation: Everyday contestation practices at the OSCE

Zhen Han (Tufts University)

  • Dissertation: “Interdependence, state decentralization and power competition: the China case.”

Jean-François Bélanger (Yale University)

  • Dissertation: “The Reputation for Restraint: Explaining Non-Proliferation and Nuclear Ascendency.”
  • SSHRC Joseph-Armand Bombardier Doctoral Scholarship Recipient
  • SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowship Recipient (Held at Yale University)

Mehri Ghazanjani

  • Dissertation: “Ethnonationalist Movements: Opportunity Structures, Mobilization Resources and Identity—The Case of the Kurds in Iran, Iraq and Turkey.”

Luyang Zhou (Brown University)

  • Dissertation: “Communist Elites and Imperial Legacies: A Comparative Historical Analysis of the Russian and Chinese Revolutions.”

Ali Zeren

  • Dissertation: “Great Powers and Intervention: Transition from Empire to Nation States and the Origins of Nationalist and Irridentist Grievances.”